Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHC)


Welcome to the State of Nevada Division of Health Care Financing and Policy (DHCFP) Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHC) webpage. FQHCs are defined by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) as health centers providing comprehensive, culturally competent, quality primary health care services to medically underserved communities and vulnerable populations. Additional health services are provided as appropriate and necessary per Nevada State Plan. Nevada currently has eight FQHCs that provide services at 38 sites across the state.

Services provided at an FQHC may include:


  •    Primary care services’ 
  •    Early periodic screenings 
  •    Preventive health services 
  •    Some diagnostic laboratory and radiology services 
  •    Family planning services 
  •    Gynecological exams; prenatal services 
  •    Vision and hearing screening 
  •    Dental office visits 


Providers at an FQHC may include:


  •   Physicians, APRN, PA, Podiatrist, Certified Registered Midwife 
  •   Dentists, Psychologist, Optometrist, Optician, Registered Dietician 


FQHCs are under an encounter reimbursement methodology for approved services provided by a Qualified Health Professionals / Medicaid Qualified Providers.  Services not approved as an FQHC encounter, but are an approved Nevada State Plan service are considered ancillary and will be reimbursed accordingly under their provider type. Nevada Medicaid FQHC policies are located within the Medicaid Service Manual (MSM), 2900-FQHC.


Enrollment, Billing Information, and Prior Authorization information can be found at https://www.medicaid.nv.gov/