Joe Lombardo Governor



Richard Whitley

Director

Public Workshop 2024 Certified Community Behavioral Health Center Expansion

Division of Healthcare Financing and Policy

November 1, 2023



Department of Health and Human Services

Helping people. It's who we are and what we do.



Objectives

- Brief History of Certified Community Behavioral Health Center (CCBHC) in Nevada
- 2. Who can be a CCBHC
- 3. Summary of CCBHC Required Services
- 4. Proposed CCBHC expansion model and enrollment criteria
- 5. Rate methodology
- 6. Steps to become a Medicaid CCBHC
- 7. Questions



History

- The Certified Community Behavioral Health Center Program is a Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Demonstration Project. The first year was the planning stage and states that successfully demonstrated the ability to implement the next phase of the program were selected.
- There were initially 24 states that were awarded the planning grant for the Demonstration Program. Out of those 24 States, Nevada was chosen as 1 of 8 states that were awarded to move forward with the 2-year implementation phase of the project.



Where we are now

- State Plan Amendment submitted to Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Management (CMS) January 2023
- During the 82nd Legislative Session DHCFP received budget authority to add additional CCBHCs from across the state
- July 1, 2023 Nevada is no longer a participant of the Demonstration
- State Plan Amendment is pending approval



Who can be a CCBHC?

- Section 223 of the Protecting Access to Medicare Act (PAMA) (PL 113-93) requires that a CCBHC be one of the following entities:
- A nonprofit organization
- Part of a local government behavioral health authority
- An entity operated under authority of the IHS, an Indian tribe, or tribal organization pursuant to a contract, grant, cooperative agreement, or compact with the IHS pursuant to the Indian Self-Determination Act.

Reference: <a href="https://www.samhsa.gov/certified-community-behavioral-health-clinics/section-223/certification-resource-guides/ccbhc-eligibility#:~:text=Section%2023%20of%20the%20Protecting%20Access%20to%20Medicare,pursuant%20to%20the%20Indian%20Self-Determination%20Act.%20More%20items



Summary of CCBHC Services

- CCBHCs are responsible for providing all nine services, which can be provided directly or through formal relationships with Designated Collaborating Organization (DCOs):
 - 1. Crisis Services
 - 2. Treatment Planning
 - 3. Screening, Assessment, Diagnosis & Risk Assessment
 - 4. Outpatient Mental Health & Substance Use Services
 - 5. Targeted Case Management
 - 6. Outpatient Primary Care Screening and Monitoring
 - 7. Community-Based Mental Health Care for Veterans
 - 8. Peer, Family Support & Counselor Services
 - 9. Psychiatric Rehabilitation Services

Plus Assertive Community Treatment



CCBHC Expansion and Enrollment Criteria

Enrollment will begin January 1, 2024



Pre-Enrollment Checklist

- Nevada Medicaid Certified Community Behavioral Health Centers (CCBHCs) Enrollment Criteria (Provider Type 17-188)
- Beginning January 1, 2024, Nevada Medicaid will open PT 17-188 statewide. To begin this process providers must watch the CCBHC enrollment webinar. This can be found on the University of Nevada Reno, Center for the Application of Substance Abuse Technologies (CASAT) website.
- For current Nevada Certified CCBHCs

No statement of deficiency in place or plan of correction in the last 6 months prior to enrollment date

- For Prospective and current CCBHCs
 - 1. Providers must be enrolled in a Nevada Medicaid Behavioral Health Provider type with Nevada Medicaid for a minimum of 6 months prior to the application.
 - a. Examples: Provider Type 14, 17-215 or 26
 - 2. Provider must not have been decertified as a CCBHC in the last two calendar years prior to enrollment date
 - 3. Provider must have an independent NPI for the CCBHC
 - 4. Electronic health record must be able to accommodate multiple diagnosis and shadow billed codes
 - a. Provide the name of the EHR
 - 5. Medicaid Services Manual 2700
 - 6. Medicaid State Plan
 - 7. Billing Guide for 17-188 and Allowable Services Grid
 - 8. SAMHSA CCBHC Certification criteria
 - 9. CCBHC Criteria compliance Checklist
 - 10. Readiness Tool completed
 - 11. Needs Assessment
 - 12. Catchment area
 - 13. CASAT Technical Assistance Guide
 - 14. Department of Public and Behavioral Health, Healthcare Quality and Compliance (HCQC) documentation.
 - 15. CCBHC Personnel Checklist and staffing plan
 - 16. Policy and Procedure Manual
 - 17. Governing Board
 - 18. Data Requirements



New Prospective and Current CCBHC



- 1. Providers must be enrolled in a Nevada Medicaid Behavioral Health Provider type with Nevada Medicaid for a minimum of 6 months prior to the application.
 - a. Examples: Provider Type 14, 17-215 or 26
- 2. Provider must not have been decertified as a CCBHC in the last two calendar years prior to enrollment date
- 3. Provider must have an independent NPI for the CCBHC
- 4. Electronic health record must be able to accommodate multiple diagnosis and shadow billed codes
 - a. Provide the name of the EHR



New Prospective and Current CCBHC

- 1. Medicaid Services Manual 2700
- 2. Medicaid State Plan
- 3. <u>Billing Guide for 17-188</u> and Allowable Services Grid
- 4. SAMHSA CCBHC Certification criteria
- 5. CCBHC Criteria compliance Checklist
- 6. Readiness Tool completed







- 1. Needs Assessment
- 2. Catchment area
- 3. CASAT Technical Assistance Guide
- 4. Department of Public and Behavioral Health, Healthcare Quality and Compliance (HCQC) documentation.
- 5.CCBHC Personnel Checklist and staffing plan
- 6. Policy and Procedure Manual
- 7. Governing Board



New CCBHC Rate Methodology

Average of the current CCBHC rates across the state

Cost report must be completed after year 2

Daily rate





Quality Incentive Payments (QIP)



Years 1 and 2:

10% QIP is issued for submitting the full and complete required datasets for all measures, set in the technical specifications. Data must be reported for the entire performance period in which the provider is enrolled as a CCBHC

Year 3 and subsequent years:

- 5% QIP will be issued if the full and complete required datasets for all measures are submitted for the entire performance period.
- Data is required to be submitted quarterly
- an additional 10% can be added to the QIP for reporting payment based on performance.
- This performance QIP is broken down into
 - o 1% payment for attainment each of the six required measures with an additional (6% total)
 - o 2% payment for attaining performance for Plan All-Cause Readmission measure.
 - o 2% payment for attaining the State directed crisis measure.



Steps to Become a CCBHC

- Watch the training session through CASAT Learning
- Review and complete the preenrollment
- Submit the pre-enrollment documents to CCBHC@dhcfp.NV.gov
- Documents needs to be individually numbered and named based on the pre-enrollment list

- State will review the submission
- Contact the provider and advise next steps
- After initial review the provider will be directed to start the enrollment process



Questions?



Contact Information

Lori Follett
Social Service Program Specialist III
ccbhc@dhcfp.nv.gov

https://dhcfp.nv.gov/Pgms/CCBHC/CCBHC Main NEW/



Acronyms

CCBHC – Certified Community Behavioral

Health Center

CMS – Centers for Medicare and Medicaid

Management

DHCFP – Division of Healthcare Financing

and Policy

CASAT - The Center for the Application

of Substance Abuse Technologies

SAMHSA - Substance Abuse and

Mental Health Services Administration