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WELCOME

Welcome to Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up. We want
you and your family to receive the health care you need. This
guide will help you understand and use your Nevada Medicaid or
Nevada Check Up benefits.

It is important to learn how to use your health care benefits to be
sure you receive the care you need.

You must submit an application to determine if you are eligible to
receive Nevada Medicaid or Nevada Check Up benefits. To apply
for Medicaid, contact your local Division of Welfare and
Supportive Services District Office. The phone numbers are in the
Division of Welfare and Supportive Services District Office
section of this guide. To apply for Nevada Check Up, call the toll
free number in the resource section at the end of this booklet and
request an application, or apply online at
www.nevadacheckup.nv.gov. Nevada Check Up offers
applications in both English and Spanish.

Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up can assist you in taking
responsibility for your own health by reimbursing providers
directly for a wide variety of services. To get the most benefit, you
should follow the guidelines, use the services wisely, and most
importantly, lead a healthy lifestyle.



WHAT IS NEVADA MEDICAID AND NEVADA CHECK
up?

Nevada Medicaid is a program which provides quality health care
services to low-income Nevadans who qualify based on federal
and state law. Nevada Medicaid does not reimburse an individual;
rather, payments are sent directly to the health care providers for
services provided to Medicaid recipients.

Nevada Check Up is a program designed for children who do not
qualify for Medicaid but whose incomes are at or below 200% of
the Federal Poverty Level (FPL). Participants in the Nevada Check
Up program are charged a quarterly premium based on income.

Nevada Medicaid is often confused with Medicare. The basic
difference is eligibility for Nevada Medicaid is based on financial
need. Medicare is not based on financial need but is available to
almost anyone who has been determined disabled by the federal
Social Security Administration or who is 65 years of age or older.
For more information on Medicare, please call the Social Security
Administration Helpline toll free at 1-800-772-1213.



WHO IS ELIGIBLE FOR NEVADA MEDICAID AND
NEVADA CHECK UP?

To be eligible for Nevada Medicaid you must qualify for a low
income eligibility category. Generally, the categories of eligibility
are children, pregnant women, families with dependent children,
disabled adults, or persons age 65 or older.

You must be financially eligible for the Nevada Medicaid program.
The rules for assessing your income and assets vary from category
to category and are complex. A Division of Welfare and
Supportive Services caseworker will work with you to evaluate
financial eligibility and the programs for which you may be
eligible. There are special rules for persons living in nursing homes
and for disabled children living at home.

To be eligible for Nevada Check Up you must be 18 years of age
or younger. Eligibility is based on the total gross income of
household members, citizenship/legal residency status, and health
insurance status. If you are eligible for Nevada Medicaid, you
cannot be eligible for Nevada Check Up.

HOW DO NEVADA MEDICAID AND
NEVADA CHECK UP WORK?

When Nevada Medicaid or Nevada Check Up eligibility is
determined, a Nevada Medicaid/Nevada Check Up card is sent one
time only for the program in which you are enrolled. The card used
for both benefit programs looks the same, but each program has a
unique member number. Each family member who is determined
eligible will receive their own individual card. DO NOT THROW
THE CARD AWAY. You must show your Nevada
Medicaid/Nevada Check Up card to your doctor or other health
care provider, and pharmacist each time you receive medical
treatment or a service. Your provider will send the bill directly to
Nevada Medicaid for payment. Nevada Medicaid pays for Nevada
Check Up health benefits. For some services, Nevada Medicaid
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may require you to share the cost. Some Nevada Medicaid or
Nevada Check Up recipients are enrolled in a Health Maintenance
Organization (HMO) and must receive services through them.
HMO members will receive additional information about how to
access services. For enrollees not in an HMO, you will need to use
Nevada Medicaid providers who accept Nevada Medicaid or
Nevada Check Up patients.

HEALTH MAINTENANCE ORGANIZATION (HMO)

The State of Nevada Managed Care Program requires the
mandatory enrollment in an HMO of some recipients found
eligible for Medicaid or Nevada Check Up. Mandatory HMO
enrollment occurs in urban Clark and Washoe Counties. Each
county has two HMO choices. When you and your family reside in
either of these areas, you will receive a letter shortly after
eligibility is determined informing you of the choices. Failure to
complete and return the letter within the specified timeframe will
result in automatic assignment to one of the HMOs.

WHEN YOU NEED NEVADA MEDICAID OR NEVADA
CHECK UP SERVICES, YOU SHOULD:

e Tell your provider if you have any other type of health
care coverage;

e Make sure your health care provider accepts Nevada
Medicaid or Nevada Check Up as a health coverage
program;

e Make sure the service you receive is covered by
Nevada Medicaid or Nevada Check Up; See prior
authorization section;

e Show the health care provider your Nevada
Medicaid/Nevada Check Up Recipient Card each time
you receive medical treatment;

e Report to your caseworker any change in income, other
insurance coverage, assets, place of residence, or




anything else affecting eligibility for Nevada Medicaid
coverage;
e Report the following changes to Nevada Check Up
immediately:
= Address and/or telephone number changes (to avoid
disenrollment for loss of contact);
= Pregnancy, births and household composition

changes;
= Child obtains other insurance, including Medicaid,;
= Child dies;

= Child becomes a resident or inmate of a public
institution, or ward of the state;
= Child gets married or becomes emancipated.

e Pay quarterly premiums for Nevada Check Up;

e Pay for your medical care if you get services from
someone who is not approved by Nevada Medicaid or
Nevada Check Up or services that are not covered by
Nevada Medicaid or Nevada Check Up or you request
services above the Nevada Check Up benefit limits;

e Talk to your health care provider about any problems
you have with your medical bills;

e Promptly respond to all requests for additional
information to avoid potential loss of coverage.

If you knowingly break Nevada Medicaid or Nevada Check Up
rules, or are untruthful about the information on your application,
you could lose all your Nevada Medicaid or Nevada Check Up
coverage and may be required to repay your medical costs.

WHAT IF | HAVE MEDICAL INSURANCE OR OTHER
HEALTH COVERAGE?

Generally, Nevada Medicaid is the “payer of last resort.” This
means if you have other health insurance or belong to other
programs which can pay a portion of your medical bills, payment
will be collected from them first. Nevada Medicaid may then pay
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all or part of the remaining amount. Children with other creditable
health care coverage are not eligible for Nevada Check Up per
Federal Regulations.

Important: When you apply for Nevada Medicaid or Nevada
Check Up you MUST provide verification of any other type of
health care insurance or benefits. Your Division of Welfare and
Supportive Services caseworker will help determine if you have
any other type of health care coverage.

Other sources of health care coverage may include, but are not
limited to:

Private Health Insurance

Veterans Administration (VA) benefits

Medicare

TRICARE (CHAMPUS)

Medical support from absent parents

Court judgments or liability settlements for accidents or
injuries

Workers’ compensation

Long-term care insurance

Access to or enrollment in the Public Employees Benefit
Program

BENEFITS COVERED BY NEVADA MEDICAID AND

NEVADA CHECK UP

Ambulance

Birth Control

Dental

Comprehensive Rehabilitation
Disposable Medical Supplies
Durable Medical Equipment
Doctor Visits

Emergency Room



EPSDT/Healthy Kids or Preventive /Wellness Care for
Children (EPSDT is not a Nevada Check Up benefit,
preventative wellness care is)

Eye Exams and Eyeglasses (Routine eye exams and
Eyeglasses are not a Nevada Check Up benefit)
Family Planning

Hearing Tests

Home Health Care

Hospice Care

Hospital

Lab and X-ray Services

Maternity Care

Mental Health

Nursing Home Services

Occupational Therapy Services

Over-the-Counter Drugs with a prescription
Personal Care Services

Physical Therapy Services

Private Duty Nursing

Prescription Drugs

Specialists

Speech and Hearing Services

Transportation Services

Waiver Program Services (Not a Nevada Check Up benefit)

We want to help you to find out more about the benefits covered
by Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up. The next section
gives you details about benefits.

AMBULANCE/TRANSPORTATION

When seconds count in a medical emergency, call 911 for an
ambulance. Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up will cover air
and ground ambulance services in an emergency by providers who
have a contract with Nevada Medicaid.
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BIRTH CONTROL/FAMILY PLANNING

Talk to your doctor or clinic about family planning. You may
receive family planning services from any provider who accepts
Nevada Medicaid. You do not need a referral. You may receive
some types of birth control in your doctor’s office. For others,
your doctor will write a prescription. The following forms of birth
control are covered by Nevada Medicaid:

e Birth Control Pills
Condoms
Creams
Diaphragms
Foams
1UDs
Norplant
Shots (Depo-Provera)
Sponges

Under some circumstances, Nevada Medicaid will pay for a
woman to get her tubes tied or for a man to have a vasectomy
(sterilization). Nevada Medicaid does not pay to reverse these
surgeries. You must be 21 years of age or older, and both you and
your doctor must sign a “consent” form 30 days before the surgery.

HEALTHY KIDS OR EARLY PERIODIC SCREENING
DIAGNOSIS AND TREATMENT (EPSDT)

Healthy Kids or EPSDT is a special benefit for children on Nevada
Medicaid. The goal of this program is to keep children healthy.
EPSDT covers medical checkups for children. Well child exams
include vision and hearing screenings. EPSDT also covers dental
checkups. Almost anyone from birth through age 20 who receives
Nevada Medicaid can receive EPSDT covered services.

Regular checkups help keep your children healthy. Some
problems start before your child looks or feels sick. Your doctor
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can find and treat these problems early, before they lead to a
serious problem.

EPSDT Services include:

Well child exams by your child’s doctor. A head-to-toe
exam including health history, eating habits, vision and
hearing exams, and a growth and development check;

Shots (immunizations) to keep your child healthy;

Dental checkups by your child’s dentist. A complete exam
and cleaning twice a year, or more frequent dental care and
follow-ups as recommended by your child’s dentist;
Fluoride treatment and sealants are covered for children;
Follow up treatment and care if a health problem is found
during an exam;

Lead testing and other laboratory tests;

Free transportation to any medical appointments.

NEVADA CHECK UP PREVENTIVE HEALTH
SERVICES

Preventive Health Services is a benefit for children on Nevada
Check Up. The goal of this program is to keep children healthy.
Regular checkups help keep you children healthy. Some problems
start before your child looks or feels sick. Your doctor can find and
treat these problems early, before they lead to a serious problem.

Preventive Health Services Include:

Well child exams by your child’s doctor;

Shots (immunizations) to keep your child healthy;
Lead testing and other laboratory tests;

WHEN SHOULD MY CHILD HAVE AWELL CHILD

EXAM
Newborns — as soon as possible after birth.



e Babies —ages 1, 2, 4, 6, 9, 12, 15, 18, 24 and 30 months.
Shots (immunizations) are due at many of these visits.

e Toddlers — ages 3, 4, and 5 years old. More shots are due
at some of these visits.

e Children —ages 6, 8, 10 and 12 years old.

e Teenagers and Young Adults — ages 14, 16, 18 and 20.

If you missed an appointment for one of these ages, take your child
to the doctor as soon as possible. Make sure to ask for a well child
exam and tell your doctor you have Nevada Medicaid or Nevada
Check Up coverage. Remember to take your child’s shot record
with you.

DENTAL BENEFITS

See a dentist who accepts Nevada Medicaid or Nevada Check Up.
Dental benefits include:

e Adults: Emergency only; pregnant recipients who qualify
for full Medicaid are eligible for certain periodontal
benefits;

e Children on Medicaid: full coverage, limited orthodontia;

e Children on Nevada Check Up: Annual dental benefit limit
of $600.00 and no orthodontia.

Dentists need prior approval from Nevada Medicaid or Nevada
Check Up for some of the benefits.

DOCTOR VISITS

Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up pay for you and/or your
children to see the doctor or visit an Urgent Care Clinic when you
are having health problems. It is important to see your primary care
physician whenever possible for regular treatment so he/she has an
updated medical history. If needed, your doctor may refer you to a
specialist.
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EMERGENCY ROOM

Use the emergency room when you have a serious medical
problem that cannot wait for a regular medical appointment,
because waiting could mean permanent harm or death. In an
emergency, call 911 or go to the emergency room right away. You
do not have to call your doctor first. You will need to call your
doctor when the emergency is over. Your doctor must provide any
follow up care needed after the emergency. In non-emergent
situations, if your primary care provider is not available, use an
urgent care clinic.

EYE EXAMS AND EYEGLASSES

Nevada Medicaid, for recipients under age 21, covers services to
examine eyes and prescribe eyeglasses.

Your doctor will show you a selection of frames you may choose
that Nevada Medicaid pays for in full.

You may choose more expensive frames; however, you must pay
the difference between what Nevada Medicaid pays and the more
expensive costs of the frames you’ve chosen. Make sure you sign
an agreement in advance if you are going to pay for more
expensive frames. Contact lenses are covered if there is a medical
necessity for them. Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up cover
medically necessary care for eye disease and eye surgery.

HOME HEALTH CARE

Home Health Care is for persons who are homebound and/or for
people who cannot go to the doctor’s office for needed care but do
not need to be in a nursing home. Home Health Care requires prior
approval from Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up.

Some benefits you might receive in your home are:
e Occupational Therapy
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e Physical Therapy
e Skilled Nursing Services
e Home Health Care Aides

If you need home health care, talk to your doctor. Your doctor
must write an order. Give the order to a home health agency. The
home health agency will ask Nevada Medicaid or Nevada Check
Up for prior approval.

HOSPICE CARE

Hospice provides support and comfort for patients with a terminal
illness who have decided to receive comfort rather than other types
of medical care. Covered Hospice services address the needs of
the individual, their caregivers, and families while maintaining
quality of life. The Hospice philosophy provides for the physical
needs of patients as well as their emotional and spiritual needs.

Talk to your doctor about these services.

HOSPITAL CARE

Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up cover both inpatient and
outpatient hospital care. Before you use hospital services get a
referral from your doctor.

LAB AND RADIOLOGY SERVICES

Lab and Radiology services are covered by Nevada Medicaid and
Nevada Check Up. These services may be available in your
doctor’s office or your doctor may refer you to another clinic, lab,
or hospital for the service.

MATERNITY CARE

If you think you are pregnant, see a doctor as soon as possible.
Early maternity care will help you give birth to a healthy baby.
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You may choose to see a specialist such as an Obstetrical
/Gynecological (OB/GYN) physician or a Certified Nurse
Midwife.

Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up cover:
e Prenatal visits, lab work, and tests needed (such as an
ultrasound)
Labor and delivery
Anesthesia (pain treatment)
The hospital stay
The 6 week checkup after the baby is born

You are allowed to stay in the hospital up to 72 hours after a
normal birth and up to 96 hours after a C-section. You can choose
to have a shorter stay if you and your doctor agree.

Your baby may be covered by Nevada Medicaid for the first year
of birth if you are eligible for Medicaid at the time of your baby’s
birth. Contact your Division of Welfare and Supportive Services
caseworker as soon as possible to report the birth of your baby.

Nevada Check Up requires notification of pregnancy within 14
days of the delivery in order to be eligible for coverage from the
date of birth. If the mother has temporary coverage for the
newborn and they are determined eligible for Nevada Check Up,
coverage will begin the first day of the next administrative month.
The newborn cannot receive coverage which pre-dates other family
member’s earliest current enroliment.

Nevada Check Up provides ongoing access to health care for
children as long as income levels are met at annual
redeterminations, premium payments are current, and the child
continues to meet other eligibility requirements.
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MEDICAL SUPPLIES/EQUIPMENT

Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up cover many medical
supplies that are ordered by your doctor for a medical reason. For
example, some supplies which may be covered are:

e Disposable diapers or pads for children three years or older
Incontinent supplies
Wheelchair, canes, crutches, and walkers
Prosthetic orthotic devices
Wound care supplies
Insulin pump

e Oxygen
Talk to your doctor if you need medical supplies. Your doctor will
write a prescription and give the order to a medical supply
company. The medical supplier must get prior authorization from
Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up for some items. Nevada
Medicaid or Nevada Check Up will reimburse the provider for the
supplies and equipment.

MENTAL HEALTH

Mental health services are those techniques, therapies, or
treatments provided to an individual who has an acute, clinically
identifiable psychiatric disorder or chronic psychiatric disorder.
Some of the services provided include:

Inpatient/Outpatient services

Psychiatric Evaluations

Medication Management

Psychological Testing

Case Management

Individual and Group Therapy

Emergency care in a hospital

Crisis Intervention
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MIDWIFE SERVICES

You may choose to use a midwife during your pregnancy. You
must choose a certified and licensed midwife who is a Nevada
Medicaid or Nevada Check Up provider. Some certified midwives
can deliver babies in the hospital in case of an emergency during
delivery.

NURSING FACILITY

Nursing facilities provide health related care and services on a 24
hour basis to individuals who, due to medical ailments, injuries,
developmental disabilities, and/or related cognitive and behavioral
impairments, exhibit the need for medical, nursing, rehabilitative,
and psychosocial management above room and board needs.

Prior authorization is required.

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY

Occupational therapy services may be covered for some serious
illnesses or injuries. Occupational therapy may be ordered by your
doctor if it will improve your medical condition or help you relearn
a task. The order is then submitted to an occupational therapist
who accepts Nevada Medicaid or Nevada Check Up.

OUT-OF-STATE NURSING FACILITY

Out-of-State nursing facility services are offered to Nevada
residents when:
e An individual is unable to find placement in a Nevada
nursing facility;
e An individual’s residence is located on or near a Nevada
border and the residents of that community customarily
seek medical service from out-of-state providers.

Prior authorization is required.
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OVER-THE-COUNTER DRUG LIST

Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up cover many over-the-
counter medicines, such as aspirin, Tylenol, cough and cold,
allergy, antacid, and RID. You need a prescription from your
physician to give to the pharmacy.

PERSONAL CARE SERVICES

Personal care services such as bathing, feeding, and dressing may
be covered by Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up. This
benefit is for people who cannot perform these activities for
themselves. Personal care is provided by a Personal Care Assistant
(PCA) through a Personal Care Services Agency. Talk to the
Medicaid District Office closest to you if you think you need these
services. The Personal Care Services Agency must get prior
approval from Nevada Medicaid or Nevada Check Up prior to
providing services.

PHYSICAL THERAPY

Physical therapy may be covered after a serious illness or injury.
Physical therapy may be ordered by your doctor if it will improve
your medical condition. The order is then submitted to a physical
therapist who accepts Nevada Medicaid or Nevada Check Up.

PRESCRIPTION DRUGS

Many prescription drugs are covered by Nevada Medicaid and
Nevada Check Up. Some prescriptions require prior authorization.
Prescriptions for weight loss, cosmetic reasons, and experimental
reasons are not covered.

If you are on Medicare and Medicaid, most of your prescriptions
must be provided by Medicare. Medicaid will cover the excluded
Medicare items including, over-the-counter —medications,
benzodiazepines, barbiturates, vitamins, and cold and cough
medications.
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SPEECH AND HEARING SERVICES

If you have serious speech or hearing problems, see your doctor.
Your doctor may refer you to a speech therapist or an audiologist.
Some services covered by Nevada Medicaid or Nevada Check Up
are:

Hearing tests

Hearing aids

Batteries for your hearing aid
Speech therapy

SMOKING CESSATION

Products to help you stop smoking are covered under Nevada
Medicaid and Nevada Check Up. You must get a prescription from
your doctor and take it to a pharmacy to be dispensed. Examples of
prescription and over-the-counter medications are patches,
lozenges, and inhalers.

TRANSPORTATION SERVICES

Non-Emergency Transportation (NET) for Nevada Medicaid and
Nevada Check Up is provided through a transportation
management company, LogistiCare. LogistiCare provides non-
emergency transportation to medical services only. It is
recommended that you arrange for transportation at least 48 hours
in advance. For all NET services please contact:

e Reservation Line 888-737-0833
e Where’s My Ride?  888-737-0829

WAIVER PROGRAMS

Individuals with special needs may qualify for Nevada Medicaid
through special waiver programs. Persons, who qualify, may
receive enhanced benefits. Waivers allow Nevada Medicaid to pay
for support and services to help people, who would otherwise be in
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a nursing facility or other institution, to live safely in their own
homes or community.

The services may include:

Emergency response service

Homemaker service

Group home

Day treatment center

Adult day care

Family Support

Respite care for family members who need a break from
caring for disabled or elderly family members

e Home delivered meals

These programs serve a limited number of persons who meet the
program requirements. For information about how to apply for
one of the waiver programs, call the Nevada Medicaid District
Office in your area.

OTHER THINGS YOU SHOULD KNOW

WHAT IS THE MEDICAID ESTATE RECOVERY (MER)
PROGRAM?

In 1993 Congress required states to have an estate recovery
program. The purpose of the recovery program is to recover
Medicaid dollars paid on behalf of those receiving medical benefits
by Medicaid. Recovery is only completed after the death of the
Medicaid recipient and only if there is no surviving spouse,
children under 21, or disabled children of any age. The person
receiving benefits must be over the age of 55 or a permanent
resident of a care facility at the time benefits were received. Call
the Nevada Medicaid Central Office number listed in the resource
section of this guide if you have questions.
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PRIVACY OF INFORMATION

Your health information is personal and private. The Division of
Health Care Financing and Policy (DHCFP) is required by law to
protect the privacy of the information we have about you. We
receive this information when we determine your eligibility for
benefits. We also receive medical information from your doctors
(and other health care providers), clinics, labs, and hospitals in
order to approve care and pay for your health services. We use
health information about you for treatment, to obtain payment for
treatment, for administrative purposes, and to evaluate the quality
of care you receive. Federal privacy laws require that we provide
you our Notice of Privacy Practices (NPP) which explains our
legal duties and privacy practices when dealing with your personal
health information. The NPP is provided to you when you receive
your Medicaid/Nevada Check Up card. You may obtain another
copy of the NPP from our Medicaid offices or from our web site
at: www.dhcfp.nv.gov.

PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE

You may designate an individual of your choosing to represent you
and your interests with the Division of Health Care Financing and
Policy (DHCFP). This individual is known as your “Personal
Representative.” Your personal representative may have access to
your health information and make medical decisions for you
relating to your care. If you choose to designate someone as your
“Personal Representative” you must do so in writing by filling out
a form. You can get this form from your Nevada Medicaid District
Office or by calling the Nevada Check Up toll free number listed
in the resource section of this guide, or at our website:
www.dhcfp.nv.gov.

SHOWING UP FOR YOUR APPOINTMENTS WITH YOUR
HEALTH CARE PROVIDERS

It is very important to arrive at your appointment several minutes
before the scheduled time. If you are unable to keep your
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appointment, call the doctor’s office as soon as possible (at least 24
hours before your appointment) to cancel the appointment. Your
provider has reserved time for you in order to treat you.

OUT-OF-STATE MEDICAL COVERAGE

Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up will cover emergency
services if you or your family are temporarily outside of Nevada if
the provider of care agrees to participate in Nevada’s Medicaid or
Check Up Program and to bill Nevada Medicaid or Nevada Check
Up. No payments are made directly to recipients for any service
costs incurred, including services provided out of state. Rules for
out-of-state care may be different if your coverage is through an
HMO. If you are enrolled in an HMO, contact them before
obtaining out of state services for their procedures regarding out-
of-state treatment.

If you receive emergency medical services out of state from a
provider not enrolled in Nevada Medicaid or Nevada Check Up,
inform the out-of-state providers to contact Nevada’s fiscal agent,
First Health Services Corporation. Information is available on their
website: http://nevada.fhsc.com.

WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT YOUR
PROVIDERS” RESPONSIBILITIES

YOUR NEVADA MEDICAID OR NEVADA CHECK UP
HEALTH CARE PROVIDER IS RESPONSIBLE FOR:

e Getting payment from Nevada Medicaid or Nevada Check
Up and/or your health insurance company;

e Accepting the Nevada Medicaid or Nevada Check Up rates
for your health care status. Nevada Medicaid or Nevada
Check Up will reimburse a specific amount for each health
care service. Your provider cannot charge you, Nevada
Medicaid or Nevada Check Up more for the service;

e Requesting prior authorization for certain services.
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Health care providers who knowingly charge Nevada Medicaid or
Nevada Check Up for services that were not given, who neglect or
abuse patients, and/or give poor quality care may be subject to
legal action. If you believe this has happened, you may write the
Division of Health Care Financing and Policy, at 1100 East
William Street, Carson City, NV 89701.

WHAT IS “PRIOR AUTHORIZATION"?

Some services under Nevada Medicaid or Nevada Check Up must
be “prior authorized”. This means your health care provider must
receive approval from Nevada Medicaid or Nevada Check Up
before receiving a service or obtaining certain medical supplies or
equipment. Your health care provider is responsible for requesting
prior authorization for services he/she will perform.

Transportation must also be prior authorized. It is the provider’s
responsibility to get authorization for your travel. If your request
for services is denied and the provider has not been authorized, call
the number on the back of your card.

Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up, like most insurance
companies in Nevada, require prior authorization for costly drugs.
Your physician or pharmacist can tell you if the drugs you
currently take are available with or without prior authorization.
Your physician is required to request prior authorization if he/she
chooses to prescribe a drug which is not included on Nevada
Medicaid’s Preferred Drug List.

FAIR HEARINGS

You or your Authorized Representative have the right to appeal an
adverse determination (denial or reduction) made by Nevada
Medicaid or their contractors. An adverse determination may
occur for many reasons. A common reason is when information
submitted with a Prior Authorization does not show why the
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service/item is medically necessary. If you receive a Notice of
Decision indicating a service/item was denied or reduced and you
disagree, these steps may assist you:

Request a Fair Hearing: Follow the instructions on the
Notice of Decision to be sure you do not miss any
deadlines for filing a Fair Hearing request. A Hearing
Preparation Meeting (HPM) will be scheduled to discuss
your circumstances.

Care Coordination: Contact the local Medicaid District
Office Care Coordination staff for assistance.
Provider/Requestor Contact: Contact the provider who
requested the service/item to be sure the provider sent all
necessary documentation with the Prior Authorization and
for any questions regarding what was requested and/or
reduced/denied.

Reconsideration: Ask the provider if they will be sending
the Prior Authorization in again with more medical
documentation.

Peer to Peer Review: Ask the provider to request a “Peer to
Peer” review if the reason for denial/reduction was because
the service/item was not medically necessary. A Peer to
Peer review allows the ordering provider and the Physician
reviewer to discuss why the service/item is being requested.
Fair Hearing: If these steps do not resolve the issue, you
may request to proceed to a Fair Hearing.
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CLINIC IMMUNIZATION RECORD

NAME
BIRTHDATE GENDER
Vaccine Date | Date | Date | Date | Date | Date

Hepatitis B (e.g. HepB,
Hib-HepB, DTaP-HepB-
IPV)

Diptheria, Tetanus,
Pertussis (e.g. DTP,
DTaP-Hib, DTaP-HepB-
IPV, DT, Tdap, TD)

Haemophilus

influenza type b (e..
Hib, Hib-Hep, DTaP-Hib)

Polio (e.g. IPV, DTaP-
HepB-IPV)

Pneumococcal (e.g.
PCV, conjungate, PPV,
polysaccharide)

Rotavirus (e.g. Rv)

Measles, Mumps,

Rubella (e.g. MMR,
MMRV)

Varicella (e.g. Var,
MMRV)

Hepatitis A (e.g. HepA)

Meningococcal (e.g.
MCV4, MPSV4)

Human Papilloma
(e.g. HPV)

Influenza (e.g. TIV,
LAIV)

Other
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IMPORTANT PHONE NUMBERS AND LOCATIONS FOR
YOU TO KNOW

For more information or help with getting an appointment,
including mental/behavioral health, dental and free
transportation to health care appointments, contact your local
Nevada Medicaid/Check Up office:

Nevada Medicaid Central Office (NMO)

1100 East William Street, Suite 101

Carson City, Nevada 89701

Telephone: (775) 684-3600

Las Vegas area: (702) 668-4200

Toll-free telephone number: 1-800-992-0900 ext 2
www.dhcfp.nv.gov

Nevada Check Up Central Office

1000 East William Street, Suite 200

Carson City, Nevada 89701

Telephone: (775) 684-3777

Toll-free telephone number: 1-877-543-7669
Fax: (775) 684-8792
www.nevadacheckup.nv.gov

Medicare Coverage: Social Security Administration Helpline
1-800-772-1213 (toll free)
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NEVADA MEDICAID DISTRICT OFFICES

Carson City (775) 684-3651
Elko (775) 753-1191
Las Vegas (702) 668-4200
Reno (775) 687-1900

DIVISION OF WELFARE AND SUPPORTIVE SERVICES
DISTRICT OFFICES

CALL CENTERS:
North - (775) 684-7200
South - (702) 486-5000 / 486-1646

Carson City District Office 2533 N. Carson St, Suite 200 89701
Elko District Office 1020 Ruby Vista Dr, # 101, 89801
Ely District Office 725 Avenue K, 89301
Fallon District Office 111 Industrial Way, 89406
Hawthorne District Office 1000 “C” Street, 89415
Las Vegas — Belrose 700 Belrose Street, 89107
Las Vegas — Cambridge 3900 Cambridge Street, #202, 89119
Las Vegas — Cannon 3330 Flamingo, Suite 55, 89121
Las Vegas — Flamingo 3330 Flamingo Road, Suite 55, 89121
Las Vegas — Henderson 520 Boulder Hwy, 89015
Las Vegas — Nellis 611 N. Nellis Blvd., 89110
Las Vegas — Owens 1040 W. Owens Avenue, 89106
Northern Nevada | & R 680 S Rock; Reno 89502
Pahrump Office 1840 Pahrump Valley Blvd., Unit A, 89048
Reno District Office 3697 Kings Row, 89503
Winnemucca Office 475 W. Haskell Street, #6, 89445
Yerington Office 215 Bridge Street, #6, 89447

TTY Phone Numbers:
North - (775) 684-0760
South - (702) 486-8588

Website: http://dwss.nv.gov
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COMMUNITY AND VOLUNTEER SERVICES

2-1-1 is an easy to remember telephone number that, where available,
connects people with important community services and volunteer
opportunities. Contact information on essential services ranging from
finding an after-school program to securing adequate care for a child or
an aging parent can be provided by the 2-1-1 operator.
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