

## DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

DHHS

Suzanne Bierman, JD MPH Administrator

DIVISION OF HEALTH CARE FINANCING AND POLICY

Helping people. It's who we are and what we do.

June 17, 2022

Inter-Tribal Council of Nevada Serrell Smokey, ITCN President Tribal Chairman of Washoe Tribe 919 Highway 395 South Gardnerville, Nevada 89410

**Dear Tribal Members:** 

In accordance with established consultation guidelines, the Division of Health Care Financing and Policy (DHCFP) is notifying Nevada tribes of the following proposed change in policy:

The DHCFP and the Division of Welfare and Supportive Services (DWSS) will be submitting a Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) Disaster Relief State Plan Amendment (SPA) to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) in response to the National State of Emergency that was declared on January 27, 2020 in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The following sections of Nevada's approved CHIP Disaster Relief SPA have been amended to request continued flexibility at the end of the Public Health Emergency (PHE) and for the duration of the State's PHE unwinding period:

- Delay acting on changes in certain circumstances
- Delay processing of renewals and extend deadlines for families to respond to renewal requests
- Waive collection of premiums for those unable to pay due to the Public Health Emergency (PHE)
- Suspend the premium lock-out period and provide coverage regardless of whether the family has paid their outstanding premium

There is no anticipated fiscal impact to the Tribal Governments.

If you would like a consultation regarding this proposed change in policy, please contact Monica Schiffer at (775) 684-3653 who will schedule a meeting. We would appreciate a reply within 30 days from the date of this letter. If we do not hear from you within this time, we will consider this an indication that no consultation is requested.

Sincerely,

Casey Angres
Casey Angres (Jun 17, 2022 11:09 PDT)

Casey Angres
Manager of Division Compliance, DHCFP

Cc: Antonina Capurro, DMD, Deputy Administrator, DHCFP
Sandie Ruybalid, CPM, Deputy Administrator, DHCFP
Sheri Rasmussen, Acting Chief, Eligibility and Payments Unit, DWSS
Jessica Crouch, SSPSIII, Eligibility and Payment Unit, DWSS
Michelle Perkins, SSPSIII, Eligibility and Payments Unit, DWSS
Monica Schiffer, SSPS III, Medical Programs Unit, DHCFP